COUNCIL MEETING Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training 2401 Egypt Road Ada, Oklahoma 74820 June 7, 2023

10:00 a.m. MINUTES

MEMBERS PRESENT:

Chief Brandon Berryhill, Chairman, Broken Arrow PD
Director Donnie Anderson, O.B.N.D.D
Chief Don Cluck, Tuttle PD
Mr. Russ Higbie
Dr. Katherine Lang, ECU
Commissioner Tim Tipton, DPS
Deputy Sheriff Todd Young, Pontotoc County SO

STAFF PRESENT:

Darry Stacy, Executive Director Preston Draper, General Counsel Shelly Lowrance, Recording Secretary

MEMBERS ABSENT:

Sheriff Chris West, Vice-Chairman Canadian County SO Sheriff Shannon Smith, Seminole County SO Director Aungela Spurlock, OSBI Chief Don Sweger, Guthrie PD Sgt. Elijah Hass, McAlester PD Commissioner Randy Wesley, Chickasaw Nation

GUESTS:

Marcus Williams Mike Hoskins Jason Potter

- 1. Chairman, Chief Berryhill called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.
- 2. Roll Call

Roll was taken and seven members were present representing a quorum.

3. Open Meeting Act Compliance

This meeting is being held in compliance with the Oklahoma Open Meeting Act. Notice was given to the Secretary of State on May 19, 2023, and the agenda posted June 5, 2023.

- 4. Pledge of Allegiance was led by Commissioner Tipton.
- 5. Welcome to the new CLEET board member, Deputy Sheriff Todd Young from Pontotoc County Sheriff's Office. He is the appointee from the OSPOA.

Director Anderson requested staff remain in for the executive session.

6. Executive Session – Interviews for the CLEET Assistant Director position.

Executive Session to discuss CLEET personnel matters pursuant to 25 O.S. § 307 (B) (1) "Discussing the employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining or resignation of any individual salaried public officer or employee."

The executive session included individual interviews with Marcus Williams, Mike Hoskins, and Jason Potter as well as discussion regarding which applicant to hire for the Assistant Director position.

Marcus Williams 10:07 a.m. – 10:24 a.m. Mike Hoskins 10:49 a.m. - 11:23 a.m. Jason Potter 11:38 a.m. – 11:56 a.m.

Action taken: Director Anderson made a motion to enter into executive session. Dr. Lang seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Mr. Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Deputy Sheriff Young voted yes. Motion carried 7-0.

10:05 a.m. – entered into executive session.

12:22 p.m. – returned to open session.

Action taken: Director Anderson made a motion to come out of executive session. Commissioner Tipton seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Mr. Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Deputy Sheriff Young voted yes. Motion carried 7-0.

Executive Session Action: Director Anderson made a motion to hire Marcus Williams as Assistant Director contingent on a successful background check. Mr. Higbie seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Mr. Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Deputy Sheriff Young voted yes. Motion carried 7-0.

7. Adjournment

Action taken: Director Anderson made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Tipton seconded the motion. Chief Berryhill voted yes. Director Anderson voted yes. Chief Cluck voted yes. Mr. Higbie voted yes. Dr. Lang voted yes. Commissioner Tipton voted yes. Deputy Sheriff Young voted yes. Motion carried 7-0.

Chairman, Chief Berryhill adjourned the meeting at 12:25 p.m.